Dec 12, 2019  –  Dec 12, 2019  |  Berkeley, CA

Workshop: Unlocking the File Drawer

BITSS and the Stanford Immigration Policy Lab (IPL) hosted a one-day ideation workshop titled “Unlocking the File Drawer” at UC Berkeley on December 12. The workshop convened an interdisciplinary group of researchers, funders, journal editors, design specialists, and research administrators to explore integrating approaches to improving the tracking of funded research outputs, with special consideration for projects that yield null results.

The program included discussions of how various mechanisms and stakeholders can facilitate more open sharing of research outputs, including registries and pre-analysis plans, legal infrastructure and institutional compliance, conventional publication channels, and other aspects of the broader scholarly communication ecosystem. Speakers included Micah Altman (MIT Libraries), Merith Basey (Universities Allied for Essential Medicine), Mario Biagioli (UCLA), Philip Cohen (University of Maryland), Sean Grant (Indiana University), Andrew Foster (Brown University), Fernando Hoces de la Guardia (BITSS), David Laitin (Stanford University, IPL), Ted Miguel (UC Berkeley, BITSS, CEGA), Cecilia Mo (UC Berkeley), Scott Patton (Stanford University), James Turitto (J-PAL), Simine Vazire (UC Davis), Jeremy Weinstein (Stanford University, IPL), and Scott Williamson (Stanford University, IPL).

This event was funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF award SES-1956318).

Watch a live stream recording of the event below.

Go here for the 2019 BITSS Annual Meeting on Dec. 13.