Accepting Nominations for the 2017 Leamer-Rosenthal Prizes for Open Social Science

It’s that time of the year again! We’re excited to announce a third round of Leamer-Rosenthal Prizes for Open Social Science!

Since the inaugural round two years ago, BITSS has awarded 17 Leamer-Rosenthal Prizes for Open Social Science in an effort to reward social scientists who do the hard and often unrecognized work of advancing practices of research transparency and the use of reproducible methods. The prizes were named after economist Edward Leamer (UCLA) and psychologist Robert Rosenthal (UC Riverside), academic pioneers who laid the foundation for open social science.

In addition to political science, economics, and psychology, the 2016 L-R Prize recipients included individuals working to drive transparency in diverse fields such as demography and aerospace engineering. Leaders in Education took both traditional and innovative approaches to delivering knowledge and training. Dr. Eric-Jan Wagenmakers spearheaded the inclusion of open science practice training in core graduate curriculum at the University of Amsterdam, while Dr. Lorena Barba made her courses widely available to the public through an open source and collaboratively designed Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) in computational science. In the Emerging Researchers Category, prize recipients included Michèle Nuijten and Dr. Sacha Epskamp who developed statcheck; Dr. Abel Brodeur, co-author of the well-known “Star Wars: The Empirics Strike Back;” and Dr. Felix Schönbrodt who is leading the development of open science standards for German psychologists. Read more about the 2016 Prize recipients on our blog here or watch our interviews with recipients here.

BITSS will award $10,000 to (i) Leaders in Education – faculty who have incorporated research transparency methods and subject matter into their course curricula, and (ii) Emerging Researchers – outstanding graduate students and early-career researchers whose work demonstrates or advances transparent and reproducible practices. In addition to these cash prizes, BITSS also supports recipients through promotion of their work and sponsoring travel to conferences and other events.

Please see our Call for Nominations for details on how to nominate yourself or other pioneering faculty or researchers. Learn more about the prize here.


The deadline to submit nominations is 11:59 PST Friday, June 30, 2017.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.